Auto Title Info

OHIO CERTIFICATE OF TITLES FOR MOTOR VEHICLES:
The Seneca County Clerk of Courts-Title Department issues Titles for Motor Vehicles, Manufactured Homes, and Watercraft. Our hours are 8:30 am to 4:30 pm Monday through Friday. We are located in the Seneca County Justice Center at 103 E. Market Street, Suite 102, Tiffin, Ohio, on the first floor.

A Certificate of Title can be obtained in any county in the state of Ohio. Seneca County
welcomes your business. Your title work benefits our county and we make every effort to accurately process your titles in a prompt and friendly manner. If you have any questions about title work not addressed on our website, we encourage you to phone our o ffice so that you will have the necessary information when coming to our office.

Title Fees

Certificate of Title $ 15.00
Memorandum Title $ 5.00
Lien Recording $ 15.00
Duplicate Title $ 15.00
Salvage Title $ 4.00
Boat Title $ 15.00
Outboard Motor Title $ 15.00
Serial Number Inspection $ 1.50
Affidavit $ 1.00
Late Penalty $ 5.00
Archive Fee (Manufactured or Mobile home) $ 5.00

- Accept Credit and Debit cards, plus convenience fee
- Accept cash, Money Orders and personal checks made out to "Clerk of Courts"
- All fees subject to change.

GENERAL INFORMATION:
The information listed below is intended to provide answers to some commonly asked questions. As title procedures and requirements may vary, please call our office for more information before stopping in. Additional documentation may be required.

WHEN YOU BUY A CAR:
  • You should never accept a title with erasures or alterations or the use of any whiteout on a Certificate of Title. If the title has been altered, it becomes null and void and a replacement title will have to be obtained.
  • Do not fill in any part of the assignment or application on the reverse side of the title unless it is done in the presence of a Notary Public or other duly authorized officer with power to administer oaths. All signatures must be notarized.
  • If two names are to appear on the title, both signatures are required for all transactions in the State of Ohio.
  • It is required that a picture I.D. or Ohio Driver’s License must be presented at the time of transfer.
  • The transfer of title and the issuance of a new Certificate of Title must be completed within 30 days of the date it was notarized to avoid a $5.00 penalty.
  • Check the Serial Number on the vehicle and make sure it corresponds with the serial number on your Certificate of Title.
  • 45 DAY TAGS may be purchased prior to transferring a certificate of title. You can get these at the BMV. However, there is a $5.00 fee if the title is not transferred within 30 days.
  • Your Social Security Number is required by law when applying for a Certificate of Title. If a business, we will need your Federal ID number.
WHEN YOU SELL A CAR:
  • Do not execute the assignment on the reverse side of the Title until a bona fide sale has been made.
  • Seller is required by law to enter all information, including the buyer's name and address, true selling price, and the odometer reading. Initials or nicknames are not acceptable. Use full legal name. The Seller’s signature must be notarized.
IMPORTANT LEGAL DOCUMENT:
  • Your Certificate of Title is a legal document. Do not leave your Certificate of Title in your car. It is similar to the Deed for your real estate property. It is your only proof of ownership. Take good care of it and keep in a safe place.
SALES TAX:
  • Sales Tax is due at the time the title is issued. Customer will be charged sales tax based on the county they reside.
TRAILERS:
  • Commercial trailers or semi-trailers weighing 4001 pounds or more are required to have a Certificate of Title. To sell, transfer or mortgage such trailers the Certificate of Title must be presented.
  • A Certificate of Title is not required on any utility trailers that weigh 4000 pounds or less. To obtain license plates, please contact any deputy registrars office.
RECREATIONAL VEHICLES:
  • All motor homes and travel trailers are required to be titled. To sell, transfer or mortgage such recreational vehicles, the Certificate of Title must be presented.
MANUFACTURED HOME:
  • The owner of a manufactured home is required to obtain a Certificate of Title.
  • All manufactured home titles must have a (tax approval stamp) from the County Treasurer's Office and must have a stamp of approval from the County Auditor's Office where the manufactured home is located before transferring title. The transfer is done in the same manner as a motor vehicle title.
OFF ROAD MOTORCYCLES AND ALL TERRAIN VEHICLES:
  • For OFF ROAD Use Only
  • A Certificate of Title is required for off road motorcycles and all-terrain vehicles (ATV). Anyone wishing to sell an all purpose vehicle (APV) must have a Certificate of Title in their name and assign it to the new owner.
  • Having a title and plates on ATV's and off road motorcycles does not entitle the rider to operate on public roadways. They are for off road use only.
UTILITY VEHICLES - GOLF CARTS - UNDERSPEED VEHICLES - MINI TRUCKS
  • The authorization to operate these vehicles on public roads is at the discretion of the local authority of the jurisdiction where the vehicle will be operated. (see ORC 4511.215) Please contact local law enforcement in the city, township, village, or other jurisdiction for applicable laws. Can only drive on roads of 35 mph or less.
  • Each vehicle must successfully pass the required vehicle inspection performed by local law enforcement prior to obtaining certificate of title and registration. Must bring completed inspection form to Title Office.
  • Must provide proof of ownership such as MCO, assigned title from this state or another state, bill of sale from a retail business or individual, sworn statement of ownership or other evidence required by law of another state from which the vehicle was brought into this state.
  • Proof of sales tax, if already paid.
  • Payment for title fees and taxes, if applicable.
LIEN CANCELLATIONS:
  • All liens on the face of a Certificate of Title must be cancelled by the Clerk of Courts.
NOTARY PUBLICS:
  • Before notarizing any title, the seller is required to enter ALL information, before it is signed and notarized.(That includes the price, buyer's full legal name and address, and the mileage.)
  • If a vehicle is jointly owned, both individuals must sign in front of the notary public.
POWER OF ATTORNEY: (See Auto Title Forms)
  • No person can sign for you without a signed and notarized Power of Attorney from you. This Power of Attorney is then attached to our files and becomes part of our evidence.
  • If a person who has given another individual power of attorney dies, the power of attorney is no longer valid.
WHEN PURCHASING A VEHICLE FROM OUT OF STATE:
  • When purchasing a vehicle that is currently titled in another state, make sure that the seller completes the assignment on the out of state title. If that state requires a notary, their signature will need to be notarized.
  • A Bill of Sale is required, if purchased from a dealer.
  • Used vehicles purchased out-of-state require a serial number inspection. This is a physical inspection that can be obtained by an authorized new or used car dealer in Ohio or any Deputy Registrar.
SURVIVING SPOUSE: (See Auto Title Forms)
  • A surviving spouse may transfer an unlimited number of motor vehicles (car, pickup truck or motorcycle) with the combined appraised value of up to $65,000.00 into their name. Also, one boat and one outboard motor can be transferred into their name.
  • The surviving spouse would bring in the title, their ID, the Death Certificate of the decedent to transfer the title into their name. Any other titles will need to be probated before they can be transferred.
WITH RIGHTS OF SURVIVORSHIP (WROS):
  • The title must be placed in two peoples’ names. Please let us know if you want WROS on the title. You need to sign your name and write WROS behind your signature.
  • If you sell the vehicle, both owners will need to sign off of the title and include the WROS behind your signature.
  • If one of the owners passes away, the surviving owner brings in the title, their ID, and the Death Certificate of the decedent and transfers the title into their name.
TRANSFER ON DEATH (T.O.D.): (See Auto Title Forms)
  • The title must be in one person's name. A Transfer on Death form is necessary to designate your beneficiary(s). You will need the full legal name, social security number, address, and date of birth of the beneficiary(s). The T.O.D. must be indicated on the original title.
  • If the owner passes away, the beneficiary(s) brings in the title, their ID, and the Death Certificate of the decedent and transfer the title into their name(s).
MINOR: (See Auto Title Forms)
  • A minor consent form is required when a minor (under the age of 18 years) buys or sells a vehicle. The form must be completed and signed by a parent or legal guardian and must be notarized.
CHANGE OF NAME:
  • If your name is changed through marriage or court proceedings, the name on your title can only be changed with a signed certified copy of the Court Order indicating the name change. Otherwise, there is no authority in the law to change the title to your new name.
MEMORANDUM CERTIFICATE:
  • A Memorandum Certificate of Title (white copy) is issued for the purpose of obtaining license plates and registration when the original title is held by a lien holder. You cannot transfer ownership of an automobile with a memorandum title.
DUPLICATE TITLE: (See Auto Title Forms)
  • If the original title is lost, stolen, or destroyed, a Duplicate Certificate of Title may be obtained. The duplicate title inactivates the original title.
JUNK VEHICLES
  • When you dismantle, destroy or change the character of your automobile so that it no longer is a complete vehicle, you must surrender your Title to the Clerk of Courts for cancellation.
  • If the title is taken to a junk yard, the title will need to be assigned to the junk yard.
SALVAGE TITLE
  • To convert a salvage title to a regular title, an inspection must be made by the State Highway Patrol. First, you will need to go to a BMV office to pay the fee and then you can call the State Highway Patrol to make an appointment for an inspection.
  • Once you have obtained your inspection, you are then ready to come to the Title Office to have your title replaced.

CERTIFICATE OF TITLES FOR WATERCRAFT:
The Seneca County Clerk of Courts-Title Department issues Titles for Watercraft. Our hours are 8:30 am to 4:30 pm Monday through Friday. We are located in the Seneca County Justice Center at 103 E. Market Street, Suite 102, Tiffin, Ohio, on the first floor.

BUYING A BOAT OR MOTOR:
  • You should never accept a title with erasures or alterations or the use of any whiteout on a Certificate of Title. If the title has been altered, it becomes null and void and a replacement title will have to be obtained.
  • Do not fill in any part of the assignment or application on the reverse side of the title unless it is done in the presence of a Notary Public or other duly authorized officer with power to administer oaths. All signatures must be notarized.
  • If two names are to appear on the title, both signatures are required for all transactions in the State of Ohio.
  • It is required that a picture I.D. or Ohio Driver’s License must be presented at the time of transfer.
  • The transfer of title and the issuance of a new Certificate of Title must be completed within 30 days of the date it was notarized to avoid a $5.00 penalty.
  • Check the HIN (Hull Identification Number) on the watercraft and make sure it corresponds with the serial number on your Certificate of Title.
WHEN SELLING A BOAT OR MOTOR:
  • Do not execute the assignment on the reverse side of the Title until a bona fide sale has been made.
  • Seller is required by law to enter all information, including the buyer’s name and address and true selling price. Initials or nicknames are not acceptable. Use full legal name. The Seller’s signature must be notarized.
BOAT, JET SKI, WAVE RUNNER, AND MOTOR:
  • A Certificate of Title is required on all boats 14 feet or longer and all outboard motors 10 HP or more.
  • This includes all jet skis and wave runners.
  • All boats/watercraft are required to have a 12-character Hull ID# before a title can be issued. If you need to obtain a 12 digit HIN, contact the Watercraft Field Office at Sandusky, Ohio at 419-621-1402 or Maumee Bay at 419-836-6003.
  • Canoes and kayaks are exempt from being titled, but must be registered.
  • Before purchasing a boat, motor, Jet Ski or wave runner, be sure the seller has an Ohio Certificate of Title in their name.
  • If you purchased a jet ski or wave runner before a title was required, you must obtain a title and assign that title to the buyer.

WATERCRAFT REGISTRATIONS:
(See Auto Title Forms)

The Seneca County Clerk of Courts-Title Department issues Boat Registrations. Our hours are 8:30 am to 4:00 pm Monday through Friday. We are located in the Seneca County Justice Center at 103 E. Market Street, Suite 102, Tiffin, Ohio, on the first floor.

We can issue your Ohio Certificate of Titles and can also issue your Watercraft Registrations for the State of Ohio.

All boats/watercraft are required to have a 12-character Hull ID# before a registration can be issued. If you need to obtain a 12 digit HIN, contact the Watercraft Field Office at Sandusky, Ohio at 419-621-1402 or Maumee Bay at 419-836-6003.

Watercraft Registration Fees:

HAND POWERED ONLY:
Canoes, Kayaks, Rowboats, Inflatables and Pedal Boats $ 20.00
POWERED BY MOTOR:
Any boat less than 16' long or any motorized canoe $ 33.00
Boats 16' Long but less than 26' long $ 48.00
Boats 26' long but less than 40' long $ 63.00
Boats 40' long but less than 65' long $ 78.00
Boats 65' long and longer $ 93.00
POWERED BY SAIL ONLY (NO MOTOR):
Any boat less than 16' $ 38.00
Boats 16' Long but less than 26' long $ 53.00
Boats 26' long but less than 40' long $ 68.00
Boats 40' long but less than 65' long $ 83.00
Boats 65' long and longer $ 98.00
TRANSFER FEE FOR UNEXPIRED REGISTRATION:
All boats $ 5.00
Boat Registrations Notary Fee $ 1.00


HAND POWERED


FEE
TRADITIONAL REGISTRATION:
Two decals provided;
you supply OH numbers
(Canoes, Kayaks,
Rowboats, Inflatables, Racing Shells,
Rowing Sculls, Pedal Boats)
$ 20.00
ALTERNATIVE REGISTRATION:
One decal provided; no OH Numers Required; $ 25.00

- Accept Credit and Debit cards, plus convenience fee
- Accept cash, Money Orders and personal checks made out to "Clerk of Courts"
- All fees subject to change.


If titled, some items you will need to bring with you so we can issue your Watercraft Registrations are:
  • Current Driver's License
  • Date of birth
  • Ohio Certificate of Title for the boat (if titled)
  • OH number that is presently on the boat
  • Previous registration paperwork

If not titled, we will need:
  • Current Driver's License
  • Date of birth
  • Manufacturer's Statement of Origin
  • Bill of Sale or Sales Receipt
  • Year
  • Make
  • Hull ID Number
  • Length of boat in feet and inches
  • Valid 12 character hull ID number (HIN) on the boat. If you do not have 12 digit HIN, you will need to call the Division of Watercraft Field Office to apply for one. Sandusky Office 419-621-1302 and Maumee Bay 419-836-6003
  • Previous watercraft registration
  • OH number that is presently on the boat

Alternative Registration